Our team

SecureDNA is composed of academic life scientists and cryptographers, policy analysts, information security specialists, and software engineers from many nations.

Foundation Council

  • Kevin Esvelt

    Prof. Kevin Esvelt

    Foundation Council

    Director of the Sculpting Evolution group at the MIT Media Lab. Co-founder of the SecureDNA Foundation; inventor of CRISPR-based gene drive.

  • Andrew Yao

    Dean Andrew Yao

    Foundation Council

    Professor and Dean of the Institute for Interdisciplinary Information Sciences at Tsinghua University; Turing Award winner.

Management Team

  • Jens Berlips

    Jens Berlips

    Management team

    Swedish health tech entrepreneur with interest in biosafety. Managing the SecureDNA project and the Swiss Foundation.

  • Dr. Leonard Foner

    Management team

    Software architect and security lead for SecureDNA, with research background in cryptography, distributed systems, and privacy-protecting technologies.